Chalk Ground at Cley 17

Love this, especially as I’m experimenting with new forms of ground

debbie lyddon

P1000883

Next weekend I will be installing my newest piece of work, Chalk Ground, at St Margaret’s Church, Cley-next-the-Sea and I am very pleased to be a part of this exhibition run by the North Norfolk Exhibition Project. Cley is just 10 minutes down the road from my house and so the work is being shown in the place of its inspiration – this doesn’t happen very often!

P1000780 The NNEP was set up in order to be able to show contemporary art in a place where there was no gallery that artists could show new work in. Each year there is a different curator who sets the brief and chooses the artists. This year the curator is Marion Stuart who is an artist, art lecturer and founder of StudioDo. The brief is ‘Connectivity’ and asks artists to use historical context and local connections to create links between site and art…

View original post 528 more words

3 thoughts on “Chalk Ground at Cley 17

  1. I would love to hear about your experiments with a new form of ground. Yesterday I collected cuttlefish to see if I can grind it up and use with rabbit skin glue to make gesso

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been fascinating, I am in process of a fine art degree at 64! Tim Davies the painting technician is a mind of info. Including my issues re using different materials significantly chalk pastels. I have been using canvas on board with fairly stiff gesso, pastel a bit of ink & then fixative.
      Latest has been using up some yellow acyrilic, Tim has suggested marble dust and some fine sand. I’m going down to Weymouth next week to see my sister and mum, so the sand will come from the beach! I will let you know how it works!

      Like

      1. I completed my Visual Art Degree 12 years ago at 42. I started researching natural art materials back then and have never stopped. I am currently exploring egg yolk as a print medium and over colouring with natural dye pigment soaked in methelayted spirit. I no longer use acrylic but I do work with cold wax and hand made oil paint and mix in all sorts of natural things. Look forward to hearing about your results. I must do a blog post about the things I am currently exploring

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

