Imperfection

I struggle with mistakes.

Not mistakes in the art but mistakes in getting the canvas corners right like I would with wrapping presents at Christmas1

With print which has almost resulted in the technicians giving up with getting me   independent

Forgetting processes almost more than the art itself which I’m feeling quite positive about

So maybe my practical mistakes which always get worse and I get more worried about them sould become part of the art itself.

I have created these 6 boards out of a body drawing featuring different angles and different body views and of course I could not get the hanging straight! There are lots of holes in the pristine white wall, chipped away the plaster too in one place. O viv!

I have been looking at the wonderful drawing and sculpture of artist Kiki Smith, fascinated that she starts with medically correct perspective, viscerally she elongates and distorts the body on occasions, in Other Worlds  Baltic exhibition she was placed alongside Nancy Spero’s prints which their social and political comment alongside the 60s onwards with text and figurative art based on trace rather than actual body form.

I am beginning to think my work on aging bodies is more about the internal experience of being in the body rather than external.

So perhaps distortions, mistakes, not getting it right fit well together!

Update When i returned to my studios space yesterday some kind soul had straightened the lower picture and put in level screws rectified my mistake!

An interesting quote from John Ruskin

https://www.brainpickings.org/2015/07/01/john-ruskin-imperfection-creativity-labor/

2 thoughts on “Imperfection

  1. Can I simply just say what a comfort to discover a person that really understands what they’re talking about on the net. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot more people must read this and understand this side of the story. It’s surprising you’re not more popular because you certainly have the gift.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

