Pondering on drawing and sculpture

5 days chipping,  working into stone the lines of my drawing, not quite 3D more an extension of 2d, complete but incomplete emerging from rock, very glad I used am image I had made of Mel model for Bathspa uni’s life drawing class. Quite a character and  fits with this emerging image well making it authentic.

it has been so inspiring Hannah Sofear working with us, working also alongside Dan who is planning his life change from a business on Liverpool’s container port  to stone carving via City and Guilds course.

On Friday I went into Tout quarry LeArningstone to write up my thoughts, how I could further use my drawings, possibility of projecting my drawings onto stone.

I could not have imagined that I would create something like my sculpted drawing, I have had such a confidence issue sometimes with my drawings. I need to keep on with drawings of the body fundamental to my work. But could particular lines I chipped away more  be deeply fundamental too? Again someone has seen my work as different. This image I used when chipped way had element of the ancient about it.

This also relates back to a talk I heard by Lavinia Byrne about Palmyra in the 1st term, and a image that I created that really did not work at that time.

I have been so engaged with the process that I’ve often not had my notebook with me when Hannah has mentioned connections with contemporary artists but surfice it to say that I have looked at Chris Le Brun and Michael Kenny with his combination of the figurative and abstract. A beginning. I also need to consider Joseph Beys work and have the connection with Victoria Walters in Bath to start to do this.

Hannah Soefar the sculpter who worked with us, introduced  ‘opening up stone to the light for the first time’, a concept especially within Tout  quarry with all its ancientness, where  I kept seeing so many  different images that had been carved into the stone. This work had initially including Gormley and John Roberts stone carver, taken place 20 years ago when a numbers of contemporary sculptors inscribed  images to fit with the ancient stones and boulders. I have the impression of profound interest and engagement with so many issues here; geological, social, ecological and political. Its very interesting to me as my sister has lived in nearby Weymouth for many years  and as many I have only begun to get to know Portland recently, post 2012 Olympics.

I am considering the suggested possibility of a further week or placement need to think about that too, maybe,  is this a one off experience or more?  Need to reflect more.

 

 

One thought on “Pondering on drawing and sculpture

  1. Dear Viv,

    You are amazing! That sculpture is amazing too. Keep up the good work. I am looking forward to seeing the finished product.

    love

    Doris

    Like

Leave a Reply

