Red! 2 new paintings and a sculpture plan

I started out with 2 identical red boards and despite attempts to create a series have come up with 2 very different pieces of work. What I do not understand at all is how differently the crimson red behaved. Disappearing to start with on the body of the  1st painting and appearing more distinct on the clothing of the 2nd. Or that’s what it feels like.For the moment this will remain a series of 2. With the possibility of a 3rd at a later stage. O well that will have to do for the present.

At the same time as I have been finishing studio work, I have been continuing to work through my plans for summer term project. The mention of Henry Moore months ago when Clare Woods ran the large scale painting workshop resulted in me looking into Henry Moore’s drawings. Some like the underground second world war drawings, and his mining drawings seem to be drawings for themselves. Others are clearly related to his sculptures but those figures in all of the drawings, all the figures have similarity. But can I look at him without experiencing sculpture? No I don’t think so now.

So whist I was in Weymouth this weekend went over to Portland.After having Googled Portland and sculpture and found Stone Carving, went and had a chat. they suggested if I was really to get to grip with Moore I needed the experience of engaging with the landscape and light  on a 5 day course rather than just a weekend and give a presentation about my work!

 

 

One thought on “Red! 2 new paintings and a sculpture plan

  1. Viv that is so exciting! Henry Moore is just amazing and I agree you can’t see his drawings without seeing sculpture but there are other things which are quite different. Over the Easter holiday I went to see the Lady Lever Art Gallery with my niece and her husband as it has just had a considerable amount of money spent on refurbishing parts of the gallery and opening it up to better light. There was a beautiful painting of the sea which I loved and when I looked at the label it was a Henry Moore! The sea could have been actually moving but it was not like any of the sculptures I am familiar with. The Red series is great. i like both of them and your comments of how the red responds to the work is interesting and something I have not thought about before. Keep up the good work. Hope all is well.

    Doris

    Like

Leave a Reply

